What's new
What's new

Cheap linear guides for very small loads

Arcadium

Plastic
Hello,

I'm not an mechanical engineer (despite being fascinated by this field) and I need some advice. I'm creating a stippling machine, now it's working but for linear guiding I use linear carriage, which I think is overkill as only thing it does is keeping it from spinning and guiding the needle up and down. Take a look in the photo below.

My question is how can I achieve the same guiding (with spinning prevention) motion cheaper and preferably with less friction? I know that carriage has little to none friction, but I want my contraption to have small weight thus i'm thinking something from nylon without lubricant would have less friction or maybe a better expression less stickiness. But I have no idea how it should look like. I've seen these plastic guides, but they are expensive and im thinking maybe local machinist could make me some dovetail guide-ways or something like that.

Simas

Attachments

• IMG_20201226_122548.jpg
    IMG_20201226_122548.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 263
You're using a solenoid to drive the carriage with the needle, what is the total length of travel in mm? If not very much, investigate "flexures", which could support the carriage while providing essentially "0" friction.

By their nature, you will get some vertical movement (as your picture is oriented) due to the angular movement, but short displacements mean very little change in Z. A longer flexure minimizes this, but can start to compromise other axis control.

Thomson linear ball bushings are about the lowest friction you can get off the shelf. About the only lower friction guides are air bearings. They may be too expensive for your application. You will need three bushings and two bars. The open bushings can be adjusted by squeezing the mounting so you can get nearly zero side movement.

Linear Bearings | Thomson | Find a Product

Bill