What's new
What's new

Colchester Chipmaster Parts

Dantheman84

Plastic
Hi there,

My name is Daniel and I live in Ballarat, Victoria Australia. I'm a Sheetmetal worker by trade but I'm currently in my third year of a Machining apprenticeship.

What a fantastic site, there is a wealth of knowledge from many experienced people, thankyou.

I am currently rebuilding a Colchester Chipmaster Lathe and I need some parts for it, I thought I would try here just in case anyone has some or knew where I could get some.

I'm looking for a Tailstock handwheel, rack, and rack pinion gear.These don't have to be brand new parts, I've tried a couple of places in the UK for new parts but the prices are quite high!

I thought maybe someone on here has wrecked/broken a Chipmaster or Bantam lathe and just might have some parts.

I'd really appreciate if anyone could help me or point me in the right direction.

Thanks and kind regards
Daniel.:)

The rack & pinion are 14DP which is a prick to find nowadays. I have the 14DP cutters because I had to make a new rack & gear for my Chipmaster. The gear was easy, the rack was a major PITA. I used a shaper with a single axis DRO and it came out fine, but I wouldn't do it a second time.

I strongly suggest you swap them to 16DP 20 deg PA and be done with it. The current rack cross section is an odd angled pentagon to engage fully with the planed bed recess, it doesn't really have to be like that.

IIRC the gear is integral with the pinion shaft which is splined. If you make the shaft with a blank for the gear I'll cut the gear teeth for you.

The handwheel - shrug. Mine is broken & brazed together. I'd like a new one but it's not important.

Oh yes if the Kopp variator is misbehaving, good luck with *that*. I don't like mine and it's on the list to replace, just as soon as I find something else with a 10:1 speed range that'll fit. Not holding my breath.

I really like my Chipmaster and use it a lot.

PDW

Hi Guys