What's new
What's new

Colchester threading dial

NewGunPlumber

Aluminum
I have a Colchester master 2500 13" with metric lead screw but unfortunately I'm missing the threading dial so thinking about making one.

Does anyone have a machine the same that would be willing to help out with some info on the gear and number of devisions on the dial?

Any help would be greatly appreciated guys!

From what I've seen they have one dial with 4 numbers and 1 additional index mark between those numbers.

I'm not sure how the metric lead screw works but from memory the imperial versions if your cutting and imperial thread you can start on any number. If your cutting a metric thread you need to start in the same number each time

From what I've seen they have one dial with 4 numbers and 1 additional index mark between those numbers.

I'm not sure how the metric lead screw works but from memory the imperial versions if your cutting and imperial thread you can start on any number. If your cutting a metric thread you need to start in the same number each time

Yer memory is worse than mine. :)

For inch threads, if you can divide the pitch of the lead screw in to the number of threads, you can engage the half nuts anywhere. Otherwise, about the only safe thing to do is to RTFM. Read The Frikken Manual. Some of the problems come about because of the Odd numbered, or Half numbered threads that are 'Standard'.

For Metrical threads on Metrical machines, same. RTFM.

I have no information on that lathe, but if you can not find the OEM solution, I can give a stab at designing one that would work. I would need to know the pitch of the lead screw and the exact metric threads that you want to cut. Oh, and if it is an English lead screw, then I would also need to know the ratio of the English-metric conversion gears.