What's new
What's new

Complete noob shop wiring need help

West-7

Aluminum
I'm trying to set up a shop in a double car garage and will be running several machines a big air compressor and welders with a phase converter and possibly converting some of the equipment over to single phase for convenience so I don't have to run the converter constantly.

So far the garage only has 120 and a small panel with 4 15 amp breakers that appears to be running from a 30amp breaker in the main panel in the house which has a 200amp main breaker.

If I already have that small panel in the garage running off the 30a 120/240 breaker does that mean I already have 240 and just need to put in another panel for it in the garage or will I have to run additional wiring in the house to get 240?

Trying to get to the point where I can run at least 1 machine at a time to start making parts and will fully upgrade in the future. I think I may have 3 phase running along the highway by my property but I'm sure it would cost a small fortune to run to the garage.

for your safety hire a professional.

If you have two hot wires, generally speaking in domestic service in this country you have 240(ish). If the breaker for the sub-panel takes up two positions or slots in the main panel, you have two hot wires, but the current you can draw is limited by the size wire feeding the sub-panel. 240 30A can run one efficient welder, one medium compressor or one machine at a time. thats all you are going to get without running new wire to your sub-panel, but also consider the age and condition of the wiring. the demands of the type of industrial loads you are intending to place on the old work can cause problems to reveal themselves.

having a pro run a new sub-panel would be highly recommended.

for your safety hire a professional.