What's new
What's new

Coolant Pump

Scruffy1949

Plastic
My newly purchased LeBlond Regal 13x30 Lathe has a 3 phase drive motor and 3 phase coolant pump. My service is single phase. I bought a VFD for the drive motor (3 hp). How important is having the coolant pump? Should I get a single phase unit. I am a home hobbyist and not doing production work. I guess it could be handy if needed.

Congrats on the lathe. For most lathe work coolant is not necessary, however if you use much high speed steel tooling such as drills, reamers, form cutters etc. Your coolant system can be invaluable, especially in certain metals where heat causes hardening. We run light petroleum oil for coolant as it keeps everything better lubed, prevents rust and actually cools faster than water. You can find small rotary phase converters fairly cheap if you have a little patience and once you get a little experience with the lathe you will likely find more machines following you home that can use the rotary converters 3 phase power. Wether single phase or three, coolant will come in handy pretty often.

Happy Machining!

We run light petroleum oil for coolant as it keeps everything better lubed, prevents rust and actually cools faster than water.
!

Not true!.....Water moves and absorbs heat much better than oil.......
There are applications where oil is preferred over water based coolant....(note the name...COOLANT) Machining tasks like gear hobbing and broaching generally like oil because it handles
the high cutting loads and point pressures , but those jobs are generally low speed and heat removal is not the primary problem....

Cheers Ross

My newly purchased LeBlond Regal 13x30 Lathe has a 3 phase drive motor and 3 phase coolant pump. My service is single phase. I bought a VFD for the drive motor (3 hp). How important is having the coolant pump? Should I get a single phase unit. I am a home hobbyist and not doing production work. I guess it could be handy if needed.