What's new
What's new

Copy mill surface finish

sundewzer

Plastic
I have tried every speed, feed, doc, and woc combination I can think of and I can't get a good finish on steel. I even removed all the cutters but one and got pretty good results but they still need to be better.

EM https://www.amazon.com/Metaltech-Tools-Contouring-Coupling-490-0600/dp/B00LEZMS14
Insert RDMW0702M0 AH120

No matter what I try the swirls won't go away. The head is as trammed as I can get it. I even tipped it on purpose a couple thousands and there was no change.

Here is what I get will all the teeth.
Shared album - Casey Cotter - Google Photos

Here is the best I could get with one tooth, Shared album - Casey Cotter - Google Photos

I have never used a copy mill before, am I missing something obvious? My next plan was to try a different insert but the limited option don't seem to have much of a different geometry. Search Page

That's bad...is the cutter out of round or not square? What rpm and feed are you running? What machine? That looks like one hell of a case of built up edge.

As already asked, what material and at what cutting speed are you running the cutter? Looks maybe like it may need more RPM. If you are running large radius inserts get that feed up also. If that vise indication of .005" is feed per tooth that's way low.

assuming the material is mild crap, your finish doesn't look too bad. But, why using such a small tool to face? At worst, try using a flycutter (cheaper is than cheaper does)

Copy mill? Let us see a picture of the machine.

That cutter is not one I would use for anything, let alone a plain flat surface.

I also get good results on wide flat surfaces with a flycutter using a brazed carbide tool bit. Google this to see examples.

[h=2]Grizzly Industrial H5935 - Fly Cutter Set w/Tool Bits 1/2"[/h]