What's new
What's new

Crank grinding newbe

Turbojim

Plastic
Hello all and thanks in advance. I am pretty new to crank grinding I was recently trained by the last operator at a shop I work part time at. the last operator showed me proper radius on the grinding wheel and pretty much said to sweep to each side. I asked about the step radius on some cranks and really didn't get much respose. I have noticed occasionally after I grinding I have a nice bearing surface with a nice radius but then aslight step up and an OD corner. I try to bring the wheel out sweep in to the fillet and touch down to round the edge but I can't find any info on perfecting this part or what the radius is on allot of cranks. Thanks for any help. The last guy has been successful grinding for 12 years without problems but I'm a perfectionist and want it to be right

I have no experience with grinding cranks (watched it done a few times is all) but generally when I am grinding, turning etc to a shoulder I want a slight radius to prevent a stress crack.

None, or very few of us here are automotive machinists. You would be better served to ask your question at www.http://speedtalk.com/forum Be prepared for some debate amongst the members as to proper crank pin design.

Also, why the hell is your employer not setting standards for this? Do you not have a print to guide you? Who is your employer so I never buy a crank from them???