Custom broaches for laser cut knockout die? Weird custom tooling alert - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Ok, I could be waaaaaaaaay off base here...

But isn't this kinda the forte of a CNC Turret Punch Press like this one: YouTube

?

I've no experience with them, but I feel like .190" Aluminum shouldn't be an issue for an industrial one, no?

2. Likes bryan_machine liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by TeachMePlease View Post
    Ok, I could be waaaaaaaaay off base here...

But isn't this kinda the forte of a CNC Turret Punch Press like this one: YouTube

?

I've no experience with them, but I feel like .190" Aluminum shouldn't be an issue for an industrial one, no?
    Yes and no. Punching would be no problem for that material, but you either make punches for the shape of your holes, you nibble them away with a small round punch or you make the shape using more than one tool or the same tool indexed differently.

The shitty part is when you slit the part out. Odd angles will never slit just perfect. You have to index the punches to that exact angle when you set them up and it rarely works perfect. Also, slitting leaves a lot of witness marks on the part edge. Cleans off real easy with a belt sander, but that's hand work I'd want to avoid. Punched edges have a draft to them in thicker material as well. that probably isn't a good thing for a product like this that really just needs to look good above all else.

I can run all the turret punch parts I want for free and I have a CO2 laser that would cut those. If that was my product I would do it on a mill. I would shear sheets into blanks and try to make it a one op and 100% done part in a CNC mill.

Handling and hand finishing shit like that adds huge expense.

4. Likes TeachMePlease liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas