What's new
What's new

Cutting small gear teeth on index 55 vert mill? DIY garage

Homebrewblob

Stainless
Hi all, I have a 1952ish index 55 (not super) knee mill with original flaking on all the ways so I feel it holds a tight tolerance.

I am not a pro and only have a “garage shop”.

I want to expand my Capabilities to include cutting my own gears.

I’m interested in hearing any advice on common/recommended setups
And if my index knee mill would work for this.

I know technically it would but your guy’s opinions are worth 10x what a vintage index sales Brochure can offer.

I’m not lookin to build ring gears nor oil tanker parts :D

I’m thinking basic gears in the range of 1” to 10”ISH*

I’m learning every day and so far it feels like I open (PDF) a book before I do anything and still lack the important info those of you have learned in the Field.

So far it looks like I need cutters that are Appropriate for the tooth count I’m cutting and an indexing wheel.

Anything more really?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

You'll be best served by getting a dividing head and tail stock.

This is the input I seek.

So my (mis)understanding was the dividing head (what I (Incorrectly) referred To as a indexing wheel) would hold the gear on some sort of arbor.

You suggest using a table mounted tailstock and dividing head to hold the gear blank huh?

if anyone is interested in pictures!

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

now the next pic is with a hand held shop light directly above the way at a 90 degree angle and it really makes the frosting disappear, belive me there is NO spot in this old beast that is without flaking :drool5: :) :cloud9:

—-redacted—-

if you cant tell i LOVE this mill

Last edited:
attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php