What's new
What's new

Deep draw learning

shanej45

Aluminum
I am trying to learn all I can about the deep draw process. My end goal is rifle bullet jackets. But they have to be the absolute best that can be made.
I am a cnc machinist and programmer (mastercam) of 8 years but I'm not a tool and die guy. I am looking for learning material and knowledge. I will take all recommendations of the entire process, design, equipment, tooling, High production low production I want to learn.
One of many questions is: How are the dies made? What machines make them? I have been looking for an excuse to buy a universal tool and cutter grinder. Jig bore, edm? Best practices of running the equipment?
To make the best I would venture to say, material, process, tooling.
Any and all help is much appreciated.
Thank you.

I am trying to learn all I can about the deep draw process. My end goal is rifle bullet jackets. But they have to be the absolute best that can be made.
I am a cnc machinist and programmer (mastercam) of 8 years but I'm not a tool and die guy. I am looking for learning material and knowledge. I will take all recommendations of the entire process, design, equipment, tooling, High production low production I want to learn.
One of many questions is: How are the dies made? What machines make them? I have been looking for an excuse to buy a universal tool and cutter grinder. Jig bore, edm? Best practices of running the equipment?
To make the best I would venture to say, material, process, tooling.
Any and all help is much appreciated.
Thank you.

Impact extrusion:
Impact Extrusion, Impact Extruded Parts, Cold Forming Impact Extrusion, Copper Extruded Parts

both forward and reverse.

Hi shanej45:
To get an idea of what you will need to master, Youtube is your friend.
There are lots of videos showing the basic processes in an overview kind of way, but the crucial details are always missing.