What's new
What's new

Direct competitors to Industrial Metal Supply in So Cal area?

dead_nuts

Aluminum
I have been using IMS for 30 years but I have been having a lot of issues with them lately and want to jump ship and switch suppliers but have not found anyone else that offers the same variety of materials and services and prices, am I stuck with them? Other suppliers seem to be more specialized meaning I would have to order from multiple sources and pay higher prices.

Mostly in the Los Angeles and Orange County area since we drop ship to some vendors, all the laser water cutting shops seem to be in the OC. I would not say they suck, we just keep having issues that they can't seem to resolve even though they say "next time we will make sure..." I want to get quotes from other suppliers instead of blindly sending IMS PO's. Who knows, maybe the other suppliers will be worse?

Mostly in the Los Angeles and Orange County area since we drop ship to some vendors, all the laser water cutting shops seem to be in the OC. I would not say they suck, we just keep having issues that they can't seem to resolve even though they say "next time we will make sure..." I want to get quotes from other suppliers instead of blindly sending IMS PO's. Who knows, maybe the other suppliers will be worse?

Since most of us here are not mind readers, what is it you're trying to buy? Prime material with certs? Rems for tooling? Aluminum, stainless, CRS?

When I lived in So Cal the Industrial Metal Supply in Riverside 10 miles away was my favorite place to buy metal. A lot of remnants at the 1000# price, various sized pieces precut in the showroom, they covered the basics pretty well. Unfortunately the variety of materials was limited, Fry Steel in Santa Fe Springs probably had 5x the selection or more.