What's new
What's new

dividing head problems.

Plastic
Hi, New to the site. I'm a machinist in a small shop, Only 3 of us. Me the machinist, One millwright and a labourer. I need to machine a new spline on a shaft with very limited tooling. We have a very small dividing head and few options to choose. I need to cut a 39 tooth spline and only have 63, 33,31,29,27,23,21,13 hole plates to work with. I am not so familiar with the calculations involved as I work on heavy equipement most of my working day. I thought I had it with one turn and one hole on the 13 hole circle but dose not look to be, 7 teeth in. if anyone has any input I would appreciated it.

Thank you,
B

Thank you for the reply.

The thing is... I don't have a 39 hole plate. That is what I expected to do when I looked it up in the bible, My boss dose not understand that. If you or anyone knows if this can be done with what I have I would love to hear.

Thanks agian.

Most dividing heads have a 40:1 reduction ratio, meaning if you rotate the index plate 40 times, the output shaft goes around exactly once. If your head is 40:1, none of your existing hole circles will work.

BUT, if your dividing head happens to be a 60:1 or 90:1 head (or any other number with a factor of 3 in it), then the 13-hole circle will work. If you have a gear reducer in the shop with a factor of 3 in the reduction ratio, you could drive that reducer from the dividing head, drive the work from the reducer output, and use the 13-hole wheel on the index plate.

You might pick up an index plate of approximately the right size with a 39-hole circle and make a quick adapter to mount it to your existing dividing head. I.e., buy new replacement parts or used off eBay.