What's new
What's new

DoAll bandsaw model number - what does it tell me?

metalmagpie

Titanium
I am thinking about a DoAll 1612-U. I realize it's a 16" bandsaw. What other information is encoded in the model number?

metalmagpie

I am thinking about a DoAll 1612-U. I realize it's a 16" bandsaw. What other information is encoded in the model number?

metalmagpie

The 1612 refers to throat depth and vertical height. Throat meaning blade to frame dimension and height meaning max height of work possible. On 2 wheel saws throat is effectively the diameter of the wheels. Throat dimensions greater than wheel diameter require a third wheel. The - "U" refers to the specific configuration and that along with the serial number specifies the correct replacement part when ordering.

Don’t buy that one. I’m not an expert but the -U is some stripped down saw for meat cutting or something, I don’t know. The top of the line would be the 1612-3. The -3 will have the hydraulic table and the transmission. -1 does not have hydraulics, may have the transmission not sure. I think they made a -2 option also don’t know. Hold out for a 1612-3 it won’t cost much more if any and will by 3X the saw.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

metalmagpie

Here's a link to a manual......

https://www.doallsaws.com/manuals/1612-U 146-59101 to 149-682367 Parts Manual.pdf

The first two numbers after the dash in the serial number are the year it was made, that model started production in 59' and went thru 68', brought back later in a different configuration.
Not a bad saw, it is just a little lighter that some of the other DoAll saws, parts are pricey, just make sure there are no issues unless your getting it cheap!

Post some pic's if you get it?