What's new
What's new

DP2 #7 Invoulte gear cutter

kirk05

Plastic
This is my first time cutting a gear of this size. First attempt didn't go so well. Cutting 4140HT, sent it out and had the hardness taken out of it. Got a new cutter (because the first attempt completely dulled it and left flat spots on the cutter) and was wondering what the appropriate spindle rpm would be best to use. I've tried all speeds from 40rpm to 100rpm at .002 for my chip load. Even then was getting a bunch of vibration and nothing I seemed to do was helping. The cutter I'm using is 5-7/8" outside diameter with 10 teeth, just HSS. Any info would be very helpful!

Thanks TJ

I would rough (carefully) the tooth space with a slitting saw or a series of narrow side mills to nearly full depth. This eliminates a whole lot of the banging that goes on getting the tool to start in the cut. When most of the cutting is on each side of the cutter and not on the tips, it is a LOT smoother cutting. Because it is HSS, I'd go slower, rather than faster. 40 rpm is ok, or even slower if available.

Use a tailstock to support the work. Maybe even use a jack underneath the blank. You'd still need a beefy machine to make a go of it.

40 RPM comes out to 60 ft/min cutter speed which should be ok for a 28-32Rc material. You don't say what you are running for coolant but you certainly can't run it dry. Ideal would be with a steady flow of cutting oil. Running coolant, you would want the mix to be pretty high concentration. 2 DP is going to require a very rigid setup- what machine are you running this on?? I might suggest that you rough out the tooth space with a regular milling cutter or even slot the blank with an end mill depending on your situation. That's a lot of material to remove using an involute cutter. One more question- what is your depth of cut per pass? Hope this helps.