What's new
What's new

Easy to machine food safe metal for a coffee maker?

coffeemaker

Plastic
I'm new to machining and am working on a personal project. I'm making some parts for a manual coffee maker (similar to the Aero Press). I originally was planning on making it out of 304 stainless steel but have been reading about how difficult it can be to machine. Are there any other metals that are easier to machine and are also food safe? The material also will be in contact with coffee which is acidic.

There are different rules depending on where the product will be used in the chain as far as consumer/comercial/manufacturing of a food product. My friend and I built industrial coffee equipment for a few years.

Is this going to be an end use consumer product?

316 SS is food compliant. A little easier to machine than 304, not much. Depends on what you are actually after, aesthetics and whatnot.

R

I'm a member of a local techshop here in Austin TX. Here's a list of the machines available to me:

3D Printer #1

3D Printer #2

D Printer (PrintrBot #1)

D Printer (PrintrBot #2)

Basic Sewing Machine #1

Basic Sewing Machine #2

CNC Embroiderer

CNC ShopBot Alpha #1

CNC ShopBot Alpha #2

CNC Tormach

Computer Classroom

Conference Room #1

Conference Room #2

Conference Room #3

eat Press

Industrial Serger Machine

Industrial Straight Stitch

Industrial Walking Foot

Injection Molding Machine

Laser Cutter #1 (Trotec)

Laser Cutter #2 (Trotec)

Laser Cutter #3 (Trotec)

Laser Cutter #4 (ULS)

Laser Rotary Attachment

Lathe #1 (Jet)

Lathe #2 (Jet)

MIG Welder #1 (Lincoln)

MIG Welder #2 (Lincoln)

Milling Machine #1 (Jet)

Milling Machine #2 (Jet)

Mini Lathe Attachment for Tormach

Planishing Hammer

Powder Coating Gun and Booth

Powder Coating Oven

Quilting Machine

Sand Blasting Cabinet

SawStop / Router

Silk Screen Station

TIG Welder #1 (Lincoln)

TIG Welder #2 (Lincoln)

Vacuum Former

Vinyl Cutter

Waterjet (Flowjet)

Wood Lathe