What's new
What's new

End mill use best practice

mega arc 5040dd

Aluminum
I am fairly new to milling and in the middle of making a piece when I realized there are two ways of doing it. Well technically three ways. What is the best way or proper way to do this? Do I

a) raise the knee say.040" and then move the table over a cutters width in the X direction (left in the photo). And then feed the table in the Y direction to make the cut. and the move the table a cutters width again in the X direction and repeat until I get to the shoulder. The raise the knee again and repeat until I get to my desired depth of about .250"

b)raise the knee the full .250" and then move the cutter over say .040" in the X direction and then feed in the Y direction to make a cut and continue this unit I get to the shoulder.

or c) turn the part 90 degrees in the vice and basically do the same as option b but using the full length of the cutter.

I am assuming that option c is the worst option of the 3 because? I am doing this on a relatively light duty mill. More ridged than an import bench top mill but not as ridged as a bridgeport. I know all 3 options would work but what is the best way? What is the fastest way? And what puts the least amount of strain on a machine or is there even much of a difference?

Attachments

• 20201004_191559.jpg
    20201004_191559.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 304
Read the Machinery Handbook to find the feed/speed for your piece of metal and endmill.
Then you can determine your max depth of cut possible and use a depth that is less.

I would run the cutter down the length. You will see a dividing line between passes back and forth as you sweep the x direction and advance y.
A face mill is what I would use, a 3" one should do.

All I'm going to say is GET SOMETHING IN THAT HORIZONTAL SPINDLE to keep chips and dirt out! I'm cringing just looking at that picture. That is machine abuse, somebody call Division of Machine Welfare! :D