What's new
What's new

Endmill RPM

steveo81

Plastic
Hi all,

im new to machining, i have recently purchased a small metal lathe and a mill. so far im going ok with the lathe but im having trouble working out cutting speeds for the mill. i have looked at a few RPM/cutting speed calculators on the net but they all confuse me. the mill i have is a SIEG U2. it came with an end mill/slot drill set ranging from 4 - 12mm. i want to machine some slots through mild steel plate. any assistance with speed and feed rate would be appreciated.

thanks in advance

stevo

I can help in inches.. rpm = cutting speed x 4 divided by cutter dia. cutting speeds roughly alloy steel = 50 feet per minute, cast iron, 70 mild steel 80 to 100 and brass and aluminum, 200 these are for hss tools. If you talk limey its aluminium. In the lathe dia is the diameter of the work you are turning. Of course if you are drilling a 1//4" hole in 2" dia stock then 1/4" is your cutting dia.not the 2" Hope this helps. The speeds are ballpark numbers. Remember if you are dividing by a fraction you are multiplying be its reciprecal(sp) Peter

When manual machining, I've never relied on any formulas. I've always just listened to the machine, cutter & feel to tell me if things were right.

Of course, that takes some practice. Good luck. :)

Tom

When manual machining, I've never relied on any formulas. I've always just listened to the machine, cutter & feel to tell me if things were right.

I had hired some guys that went by "feel". I was either dodging flying cutters or watching somebody take 3 hours to do a 2 minute job. I hate retraining people.

Contrary to popular belief, the material and the endmill don't know if they are in a home shop or a pro shop, or weather a servo or a monkey are the turning the handle.

The properties don't change.