What's new
What's new

ACME threading questions

db1969

Plastic
Well, here goes nuthin'. Seems like every time I do a google search PM is somewhere in the results. Lots of good info here, but this time I came up dry. Guess it's time to join and ask. I am not a machinist by any stretch of the imagination although I have been scratching along with my mill and lathe for more than a few years now.

To get to the point I have a project I'm working on, patent applied for and figuring out how I'm going to actually make the thing. It's basically a screw type puller, and although I did my prototyping with a normal (3/4 -16) thread it seems to make sense to use an acme thread for this, and I'm wondering how this is gonna work. I need a 3/4 inch shaft to handle the load, so going with the finest pitch tap (for mechanical advantage) I see commonly available I get 10 pitch. I'll have to tap two holes per unit through 1.5 inch steel bar. I'm thinking I should heat treat at least the threaded part for strength as I'd like to see a 50 ton capability (shared between 2 screws) with this device. All that brings up material choices and tap life questions. Something like 1045 should heat treat ok, 1145 would probably be easier to machine. Would something else fill the bill and be easier to tap a 3/4-10 acme thread into? How about tap life? They ain't cheap, I'd like them to last as long as possible. Don't know how many of these I might be making, so I might as well plan for longevity from the start. Aside from the tapped holes, the majority of machine work involves drilling 1/2" holes and milling some slots and flats. It's a fair amount of metal removal but I have an old Index Model 60 Horizontal mill (2 hp 3 phase) that's in almost pristine shape, or will be as soon as I finish making an overarm and arbor support for it. Any thoughts, suggestions, criticisms, etc. you guys have I'd love to hear it. Thanks!