Explain Thread Micrometers to Me
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Explain Thread Micrometers to Me

I'm looking at buying some thread micrometers as we have a whole bunch of threading to do. How do these work? I notice the Mitutoyo don't include anvils. There isn't much else to choose from except SPI and some cheap stuff on Ebay. Here is one

SPECIAL NEW 0-1", 1-2" & 2-3"SCREW THREAD MICROMETER | eBay

SHARS 1-2" Screw Thread Micrometer .0001" Graduation Anvil NEW | eBay

Would you trust something like this? I need the anvils correct?

Country
    AUSTRALIA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have no experience with those shars mics but you need anvils, and on these the standard is also important (the standard is not like a normal mic standard) you'll need a couple different sets of anvils to cover the range of pitches, same if you want to do Whitworth.

I think you can check it on one set of anvils and then safely swap out (to Whitworth for instance) but I'm not totally sure

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

This should be good for another Gordon B Clarke fuelled bust up, …………………. and eventual banning of some poor sod.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

As you may know, a single set of Mitutoyo anvils will work in all of their frames. Unlike the cheapies, they're nicely made. The anvils stay properly seated while still being free to rotate, the adjustments are precise, and so on.

Once you get beyond 0-1" be sure each mic comes with the thread standard.

You DO need to have the proper pair of anvils to cover the thread range being measured. Even then, the anvils on all these types are an approximation of the perfect thread form. Good enough for most work. Maybe not precise enough for some specs.

What sizes do you need? I may have some extras in Mitutoyo or Brown & Sharpe etc.