What's new
What's new

Face Mill Recommendation?

beeser

Cast Iron
So far I've been satisfied using HSS for tooling but using end mills for facing, which I've been doing a lot lately is frustrating. I would like to get a face mill that uses carbide inserts but finding a good fit has been difficult. I would like to use the same insert for future lathe turning if possible to cut down on the expense. I don't need one with a large diameter, maybe 1"-2". Any suggestions would be appreciated. Although I'm a hobbyist I don't mind paying for quality tooling. My metal working machines are a Bridgeport mill, Victor 1440G lathe and Victor 8x18 surface grinder if it makes a difference.

I have one of these face mills. I'm satisfied with it. But I found it on Ebay for a 1/3 of the normal price.

So far I've been satisfied using HSS for tooling but using end mills for facing, which I've been doing a lot lately is frustrating. I would like to get a face mill that uses carbide inserts but finding a good fit has been difficult. I would like to use the same insert for future lathe turning if possible to cut down on the expense. I don't need one with a large diameter, maybe 1"-2". Any suggestions would be appreciated. Although I'm a hobbyist I don't mind paying for quality tooling. My metal working machines are a Bridgeport mill, Victor 1440G lathe and Victor 8x18 surface grinder if it makes a difference.

Lathe and mill inserts are different geometry if they have a chip breaker.
Either way, get ready to spend $500 on a good face mill and arbor

Personally I would not run a negative geometry on a Bridgeport, not enough power or rigidity to get it to cut right, IMO. I would look at either a high positive or just a run of the mill APKT insert which are cheap and work.

Since you mentioned Dorian I wonder who makes this holder for Kennametal?

I wouldnt put it past them to be using a Dorian with their name on it.