What's new
What's new

Fellows #7 gear shaper questions

Cchas

Plastic
I have been tasked with operating a rebuilt Fellows #7 shaper that my shop recently purchased. I have no one with experience running anything like this to learn from. Thankfully we run only one part on it so I don’t have to learn all about the changeovers. You guys can keep that.

I do have a couple questions for you old timers that have experience running these.

First: is the whole machine supposed to lurch so hard it moves 1/8” at the end of every cycle? Seriously, I have to pull this thing back into place with a forklift every shift. The boss is afraid if we bolt it down it will crack the cast iron base.

Second: I am cutting a straight 15 tooth 1” OD spline in aluminum. 1.1100-1.1118 over 2 .120 pins. We can not get these done in one cycle. It always takes at least two. Sometimes more. I would think it could handle it in one from the videos I’ve seen. And when I do get a good part, there is taper in the gear. Up to .0010” from top to bottom of the 1” tall spline. I know this old girl is from the early 60’s. Are we asking too much from it as far as tolerances go or should it be better?

Thanks for you help guys.

Who did the rebuild? How was the accuracy of the rebuild qualified? Have you talked with the rebuilder about how it's operating, including the excess movement on the floor?

How does the spline cutting fail (why more than one op)? How are your cutters, what's your sharpening process and scheduling?

There's others here with experience on Fellows gear cutters, but the more information you supply the easier it is for them to make recommendations.

I have been tasked with operating a rebuilt Fellows #7 shaper that my shop recently purchased.