What's new
What's new

First post after one week with a metal lathe; looking for some guidance.

prinzen

Plastic
Hello All

I am primarily a hobby woodworker, Engineer by education (but certainly not a skilled machinist), and decided I would try my hand at metal machining, specifically lathework. I decided on a Sieg SC2, and got my self some 6XXX Aluminum, 1 " diameter and some HSS pre ground cutting tools. My first few attempts at turning down the diameter went pretty well, although I could not get any better than 0.007" runout on the workpiece in my 3 jaw chuck.

I decided to remove the cross slide, clean and oil up the ways. Back to cutting, and things appeared even worse. I had a poor surface finish on a section (for about 0.5" length), and as I got closer down the workpiece length towards the headstock, the finish got considerably better.
Then, I changed to a parting tool and attempted to part off. Disaster; about 1/8" into the diameter, the workpience cocked out of the chuck jaws and the lathe stalled, while making some strange noises. So, I reset the workpiece, and luckily the motor started back up again with no apparent problems.

For the second time, I tried to finish off the parting, but again, the workpiece was dislodged from the jaws with some nasty grinding noises and the motor stopped. I thought better than try this again, and ask the experts. From a good start earlier in the week, I have lost a lot of confidence, so hopefully somebody here might be able to help with these questions:

1. After the stalling/ work piece dislodgement; would there be any damage done to my lathe (there is no obvious damage to me, and motor still works)
2. It looks like I have a runout problem, will a 4 jaw independent chuck help?
3. How can I try parting off without stalling the motor and damaging the chuck?
4. Any other advice for me?

Thanks
P

Bottom line: that's a very light hobby lathe. I doubt if you will ever be able to part off with it--just not rigid enough.