What's new
What's new

Fun Equipment Time!

B.A.D.Kustoms

Plastic
I'm a prototype machinist for a biomedical company and I run the machine shop. I've only posted here a few times before.

Anyways I've been awarded a golden ticket. My company wants me to spend money on equipment.
I'm still aiming to be reasonable but damnit some nice machine tools would be greatly appreciated!

The Rules:
Item needs to have at least 5 year useful life
Must be >$5000, but less if we can bundle
Should be less than $250,000

I want to replace our shameful machine tools. The manual mill and manual lathe.
They are not even worth mentioning..
I'd like both to be capable of doing G-Code OR .STL files with the controllers.

Any advice on some good quality machine tools?

Thanks!

Brad

We need a better idea of the sort of work you do before any useful recommendations can be made. What size parts, complexity, materials, tolerances, etc.

Also, do you know CAM or want to learn it? Budget for a software package if you're thinking of getting CNC equipment, do not rely on "on machine" use of STL, DXF, or similar files.

I machine 90% aluminum the rest stainless steel and plastics.
Most of the work is fairly complex and has a great deal of GD&T.
I see flatness to .05mm I see true position to the same degree.
Tolerances of up to .20mm down to .01mm

75% of the parts fit in your hand. The rest only up to basketball size unless its a larger flat plate those have been much larger (2'x4') I have to be able to be versatile.

Yes I know CAM very well and use Fusion currently maybe this would be the time to bring up Mastercam as well?

My favourite, good envelope, accurate, robust is a fanuc robodrill, lathe wise, Colchester triumph or master, or US equivalent, we had a Colchester with man/ cnc control,multiturn 2000 I think, nice machine, and the ubiquitous Bridgeport, no workshop complete without one,
Mark

I machine 90% aluminum the rest stainless steel and plastics.