What's new
What's new

geared manual mill

edl

Aluminum
Hello

I wonder what folks might recommend for a manual mill (vertical or universal) to handle work larger than what your typical Bridgeport might handle

I am not considering cnc...my understanding is that to do just one part or a job here or there the set up time outweighs the convenience

I would hope to replace a couple of smaller mills with this mill (the smaller ones are an Index 40 and an Index 645) only because budget will not allow me to have 3 mills

I hope to get away from changing belts to change speeds

So I am thinking of a gear head mill, with powered feeds

A friend has a couple of machines he is selling from his shop - Lagun FU4 and an OKK MH-3vII both from the 1970's (they are similarly priced)

The Lagun is a universal mill and so is both vertical and horizontal ... i have no experience with the Lagun's execution but the thought of a 2 in 1 seems nice

Are there other mills out there that would fit this bill in say the $4-6K range?

I have searched the forum and didn't find anything quite on point - if this is in the wrong forum, apologies in advance......

Thanks!

anyone have experience with OKK or Lagun? how do they compare to the kt or cincinnati?
Both of those are brand name machines with a decent reputation ... but as for comparing to k&t and cincy, what you will miss with most of those big honkers is the quill. That's more important than the brand. You want a quill for onesy-twosy general work.

Strictly between k&t and cincy, the k&t is 100 times easier to work on.

Another one to look for that's slightly bigger than a Bridgeport is a 2-30 Gorton. That's more of an upsized ram-type machine, except that Gortons generally have smaller travel than Bridgeport in the same size machine. They cared about accuracy and stability, silly guys :)

They made some #3 Gortons also. Pretty rare but I have seen a few.