What's new
What's new

Good Sand blasting gun for my application

pcm81

Cast Iron
Greetings.
I just bought my 1st glove box for sand blasting and would like to upgrade the gun in it.
Its a small 20x24 glove box, so i am looking for a "smaller form factor" blast gun to make it easier to move it inside the box around large-ish objects.
I am using a 70-100 grit glass bead media and have a small compressor, so need a gun that has good selection of nozzles, including small size ones.

Any suggestions?
Thanks

Any one of these places will have something you can use. All of them shop-able on line.

Tip Sandblasting (Or Tip Tools)

Northern Tool

Harbor Fraught

Remember small compressor equals small tip equals be patient.

Dave

You don't want a hand trigger in there.

Too hard to work with the gloves on.

rig up a foot pedal valve, probably have one in the linked document.

Good idea about the pedal. This is my 1st blasting cabinet, so i am still learning the options available.

Hand trigger is called a "deadman",and blasters hate them.

THAT is on an outside pressure blaster...I own 2 of them, each with the proper
lever hand valve, it is not a problem.

The OP is referring to a CABINET blaster set-up with a SYPHON GUN.

I built 2 of these for use in my shop, neither has a hand valve.

A foot pedal can be used to comply with OSHA deadman requirements.

Thank you all. I have decided to go with foot pedal route.

My last (yeah right) question is if there is a standard and if so, what is it called, for nozzle sizes? I am not looking to spend $300 on tungsten nozzle; so want to make sure that the gun I buy does not lock me to 1 supplier for nozzles.

First thing I'd do is standardize on 1/8" nozzles and 100 grit media. Forget stocking multiple grits and tips.

My sandblaster was made by Pauli & Griffin. Their gun is excellent. Only I don't think they make little stuff anymore.

I don't recommend you cheap out.

metalmagpie