What's new
What's new

Good Small Footprint Lathe

Dishkid

Plastic
Hello I work as an engineer at a small medical device company in California.
Currently we utilize a junk harbor freight lathe for any R&D development and I am looking to upgrade.
The biggest restriction I have is space. we operate in a rather small building so I'm looking for an overall length of about 50". The product we work on do not get that large so a 18" C-C working area would be enough. I have looked at getting a Hardinge HLVh but the 72" overall length is hard to justify. I understand most "benchtop" models are not worth the investment. Cost wise I am flexible but mainly looking for the 10k-20k range. My buying process is a bit restricted so Buying used from a private party is not really an option.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated I have been searching online but haven't been able to come up with much.

A 50" overall length is really, really pushing it for any decent machine. While there are probably a number of obscure, unobtainable machines of decent quality that fit that constraint, about the only common one I can think of would be a Hardinge HSL speed lathe, and that's probably not capable of doing what you want. And I don't know if you can even buy an HSL new these days.

A used Haas Toolroom lathe can be had for your price range and it would give you CNC ability, and are available from machine brokers instead of private party. New around $30k. if you have the VPS option on the control that would let you program without any Cad/Cam software.
Tormach has 2 lathes in the 10-20k range new but maz z travels is 12-15" i think, no experience with those.
TRAK and OmniTurn have good repuations and a used one is definetly in that budget.