What's new
What's new

Grizzly 0824 14 x 40 2" bore lathe...3 months old....issues since new

wgt500

Plastic
This is my first time posting here and I know it's a Grizzly, but I need some advise. I have a small fab shop, just two of us part time and needed a larger lathe so I bought this new in Feb of this year. Wow! has this been a crazy experience. Right off the bat the chuck had .006 runout and was replaced. New chuck is much better but not good, .002 runout on drill rod I have tested to be within .0005. The end gears were so loud you needed hearing protection....adjusted backlash three times and they finally got tolerable. There was sand in the gearbox mixed with oil...flushed out and changed fluid. Now for the real problems.....the machine will not cut consistant. It almost always overshoots the desired depth of cut by .001-.002. Doesn't matter if you are taking .020 cut or .002. The machine might cut .0005 taper on 6" or it might cut .001 on 2"... there is no consistency.

I've spent hours on the phone with their tech support and have literally performed every adjustment possible on this lathe including setting head stock bearing preload. Head stock bearings have good preload now and no measurable radial runout. All gibs have been adjusted as well as backlash. Something is "walking" and I simply can't figure it out. The techs are out of ideas and Grizzly now wants the machine returned for repair or replacement. I've generated more scrap on this machine in three months than I have total in the last forty years. It's killing me and costing shop time where I could be making money. Any ideas.....I simply don't trust their machines and not sure I want it or a replacement in my shop...can't afford to be a lathe mechanic on my own brand new machine.
Thanks for any help!

"The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten. “

Benjamin Franklin

Can you get a refund? If not sell the POS, take your lumps and move on...