What's new
What's new

Hand Tapping 316 SS - need help

Dave Hodson

Plastic
I don't have much (any) machinist knowledge unfortunately but I'm hoping someone on the forum can help me out.

I've been making knives as a hobby for a couple of years now. I mostly use 18% Nickel Silver for my bolsters and hardware but this year I picked up some 3/4" 316 stainless bar stock to try and I have to tell you, it's been a bit of a challenge. I finally figured out how to drill it to minimize work hardening but I'm really struggling on how to tap it - I've stuck and broke two 1/4-20 taps so far.

I hand tap using a cutting oil and the hole is the size recommended for the tap but it gums up pretty quick. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dave Hodson

Try drilling your hole to 7/32". Make sure you have a good spiral point or spiral flute tap (OSG, Emuge, Guhring).

Make a block with a slip fit hole for the tap to keep you square with the world and hide any 4 flute taps in the back of the drawer for emergency use only. And don't be bashful with the cutting oil.

Edit: Added picture of tapping block. This is much fancier than you need, but you get the idea. The tapping block looks trivial, but they are actually a lot of work. Taps are roughly 0.003"-0.005" oversize of nominal, so you end up needing some odd hole sizes. I got close and then barrel lapped them to size. After heat treat I had to tune it with the barrel laps again.

attachment.php

Last edited: