What's new
What's new

Hello, newbie looking to learn in NYC

nebelmeister

Plastic
Hello!

BLUF: Does anyone have suggestions on what I should search for, or where to look in NYC? Or other getting started advice? Starting at home is not an option, unfortunately.

Body:

As the title suggests, I'm totally new to this field (and forum) and I'm looking to get started with machining and metal working.
I hope this is the right sub-forum to post this to, and that these kinds of topics are welcome here; please let me know if that's not the case!

I've been watching and reading a lot about other people's professional/hobby machining and CNC projects, and I'M HOOKED! I really want to learn these skills, but since I am very space constrained (city living) I can't really start at home. My background is in software development, but lately I think it's been leaving me a bit under-stimulated; I want to explore some trade skills, either as a hobby or career switch.

I've found a few vocational schools, and some local college courses related to machining.

Does anyone have suggestions on what I should search for, or where to look in NYC?

Don't use your feeling of being "under-stimulated" be the sole-driver of a career change. New things are exciting until they too become routine.

The old books recommended would be a good start followed by a class to start getting some hands-on experience.

An activity as an hobby is a different kind of "enjoyment" (for lack of a better term) than the same activity as a career. If you would like a better idea of what the day-to-day is like in a machining/manufacturing career, I suggest finding a machinist/tool-maker to shadow for a day or two. If you are unable to make that happen on your own, the school may be able to help.

Bill

college courses are good to learn modern methods and schools often work with local business to teach what they want and same businesses often hire the students looking for jobs. so you got