What's new
What's new

Help deciding on Tumbler media

Chips-Ahoy

Aluminum
Trying to deburr machined parts using a tumbler. Right now we have some green cone shaped media that is not getting the job done. The parts have decent size burrs on them. If I use the current media and run the parts for 2 hours, then my parts are almost deburred.

Material : 17-4 PH Annealed

Im completely new to this so lay it on me... What do I need to use and what do I need to know.

Thanks in advance.

Trying to deburr machined parts using a tumbler. Right now we have some green cone shaped media that is not getting the job done. The parts have decent size burrs on them. If I use the current media and run the parts for 2 hours, then my parts are almost deburred.

Material : 17-4 PH Annealed

Im completely new to this so lay it on me... What do I need to use and what do I need to know.

Thanks in advance.

IMltdE 2 hrs for big burrs ain't bad going.

What is the media material? If it's plastic media, 17-4 is going to take a looooong time. I use a white ceramic for 17-4. Parts are small, so I use a small barrel tumbler, and when possible I tumble overnight. A large vibratory with lots of media would be faster, but current process is good enough.
What type of tumbler are you using? A small vibratory bowl is also going to add to the time for this material........
OTOH, tumbling aluminum is great with plastic media. :)

Your best bet is to call a media supplier and ask if they will finish a few sample parts for you and make suggestions.

C & M Topline is one, Kramer Industries is another, Raytech is a third, searching will find more.

Green media sounds like it might be plastic, may need something heavier for 17-4, especially for big burrs.

It's a bit of an art because of all the variables, the vendors are the best source of help I think.

Great info...thanks everyone. Yeah I think its some type of plastic media. I will call and speak with one of the suggested suppliers.