What's new
What's new

Help with deep, blind hole boring

TGraves3

Plastic
All,
I need to put a blind hole 12” deep x 1.35” diameter in 6Al-4V Titanium bar stock. I need the bottom of the hole to be flat. My first thought was use a ~1.25” gun drill to establish the hole, then bring it to size with a boring bar, which would get me the flat bottom as well. The issue I’m having is finding a bar that will reach that deep but requires a small enough minimum hole size to fit. Anyone have any experience with this type of scenario? FYI: I’m a hobbyist with access to the gun drill, but I’m on my own for the bar, so I don’t want to drop a ton of money on it. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!

If all you need to do is square up the bottom of the hole make a flat bottom drill bit.

Noted. Thanks for the insight. Any thoughts on the best way I can bring the hole to size? I thought about buying a used 1”x12” indexable heavy metal bar on eBay, then just adding an extension to it to get the depth I need.

12" deep 1" hole with a flat bottom in Ti ? Can you retire early instead ?

This is gonna be a bitch :(

(They make flat bottom inserts for spade drills but I dunno, maybe. At least you could pump a bunch of coolant in that way.)

Noted. Thanks for the insight. Any thoughts on the best way I can bring the hole to size? I thought about buying a used 1”x12” indexable heavy metal bar on eBay, then just adding an extension to it to get the depth I need.

What is your tolerance on that "final size" ????

To make the bottom flat, you can make a tool called a "D-bit" which is just a cylinder with a chamfer through the diameter. To bring to size you can use a cylinder hone.

Engine rebuild shops are experts at this stuff because they rebore cylinders all the time and they can probably do it pretty cheaply.

Engine rebuild shops are experts at this stuff because they rebore cylinders all the time and they can probably do it pretty cheaply.