What's new
What's new

Help with DoAll bandsaw model ML problems

ff2018

Plastic
Purchased a DoAll model ML bandsaw at auction (photo below). Per the serial number I think it was made in 1950 (first two digits of the SN).

6 (2).jpg

The plate on the machine says it needs 440V 3-phase 60hz power (the standard back in 1950) but we've wired it to 480V 3-phase 60hz (photo below).

2 (2).jpg

The problem is when we turn the saw on it'll run for 5-10 seconds before tripping the B2.10 square D thermal unit inside the on/off switch assembly and shutting off. I've replaced the thermal units but the saw still shuts off after a few seconds (and it smokes from the thermal unit). Photo below of what I'm talking about.

thermal_unit.jpg

Does anyone have any ideas on what's going on with this thing? This saw is brand new to us and I'm not an electrician so any suggestions would be super appreciated (even if they are obvious ones like check speed settings).

Thank you!

Does anyone have any ideas on what's going on with this thing?

Has the blade welder - all of which required two hots of 220 volts. This was done with a transformer on board. Might want to see WHERE your 480 was hooked up to

Probably smart to ALSO see if this thing has been repowered / rewired for maybe single phase - in other words, don't be so trusting of 70 year old tags specifying power required. A look at the data tag on the motor may be an eye opener

I'll take some additional photos but the blade welder seems to work (haven't tested the actual welder but the grinding wheel turns on when we flip the switch).

well, you are giving it 10% over the voltage that was intended for it 70 years ago. might be a problem, but seems like it wouldn't really blow things under a no load condition.

have you checked the motor plate to see if the motor was replaced with a 208 or 240 unit? (or single phase as John said, just re-read that, he beat me to it!)
has the motor been rewired internally for the lower voltage?