What's new
What's new

Help making die to form this part

jrmach

Titanium
As usual I get a job with no dimensions hardly,no drawing,no engineering,etc.
I have a pic I am enclosing to show basically how the finished part should look.
The material is 304 SS .035 thick
The basic shape will be lasered out
Now I have been tasked with the job of how to form this piece from the flat lasered out part to what the drawing looks like
At this time quantity of parts to be formed is 100 pieces,with more possible in future
They the customer want this so their employees (figure that out) can do the forming easily
I have zero experience making forming dies,but close to 20 years machining experience,so making the dies is piece of cake,,engineering and design is where I need the help
What material for die ?
Use oil while forming ?
What shape and clearances ? (this is not a precision part)
Is this doable with a big Dake arbor press or a 50 ton hydraulic press or even a kurt mill vise ?Obviously the fastest way is desired
Out of my wheelhouse on this one
Thanks guyshospitol.JPG

Forming low production formed blank

As usual I get a job with no dimensions hardly,no drawing,no engineering,etc.
I have a pic I am enclosing to show basically how the finished part should look.
The material is 304 SS .035 thick
The basic shape will be lasered out
Now I have been tasked with the job of how to form this piece from the flat lasered out part to what the drawing looks like
At this time quantity of parts to be formed is 100 pieces,with more possible in future
They the customer want this so their employees (figure that out) can do the forming easily
I have zero experience making forming dies,but close to 20 years machining experience,so making the dies is piece of cake,,engineering and design is where I need the help
What material for die ?
Use oil while forming ?
What shape and clearances ? (this is not a precision part)