What's new
What's new

Help with Nardini TT 1020E Lathe

shaffin

Aluminum
Hello,

I just purchased a used Nardini lathe that powered up using 208v/3ph service that I have here at my shop. I encountering ont of the following weird symptom:

1. The motor producing a buzzing sounf as if it tries to run the spindle but cant

2. The lathe trips and burns out one of 3 motor fuse which is a CC Type fuse rated for 12amps

3. The spindle starts rotating but gives up after a couple seconds

I am not an electrician by any means but am trying to make sense of this problem to get the lathe running. I think the issue seems to be that the motor fuses are currently under rated, and probably require larger fuse capacity. I just didnt want to try without some help here and burn the motor out :-(

- I am attaching a picture of the motor plate (2.5hp rated motor)

- I am also attaching picture the fuse rating chart that is attached to the electrical panel door

- I am also attaching a picture of the inside of my electrical panel

I am hoping that someone more knowledgeable can provide some feedback and help.

Thank you.

PXL_20201219_155926766.jpg

PXL_20201220_150426216.jpg

PXL_20201220_151244013 (1).jpg

Attachments

• PXL_20201220_151244013.jpg
    PXL_20201220_151244013.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 34
Motor starter has electronic overload. This is the main overcurrent protection device. Set it for motor nameplate amps. Check and tighten all electrical connections. Disconnect 3 motor leads at motor. Press start and check voltage at all 3 contactor output terminals phase to phase. From your description you are missing a phase. Check fuses. Does contactor pull in properly? If not check control circuit.

- I am attaching a picture of the motor plate (2.5hp rated motor)

Look again.

Plate shows a SINGLE VOLTAGE, (220) but TWO SPEED (870 RPM / 1740 RPM) motor, different HP (1.6 / 2.5) for each RPM rating, FLA current according ( 8.8 / 7.4 A)