What's new
What's new

Help Needed on a Non-concentric Shaft Setup

Bm.stanford

Plastic
I'm new to machining and quickly learning work piece setup can take longer than the actual machining operation. My terminology may sound novice but it's all I know so far. I've made a couple small things but I've hit a wall on this...

I'm making a mandrel which will only be used for a babbitt pour on an old jointer. I picked up some 2 1/2" cold rolled steel at a scrap yard really cheap. Later realized it's not the greatest thing to machine - but I already have it and the price was right. I'm having trouble getting it lined up perfectly on the tail stock mainly because it's not perfectly round and smooth. I chucked it in the 3 jaw and set the opposite end in the steady rest while adjusting it by indicating the length of the shaft at the 12 and 3 o'clock positions until it appeared to be spot on. When I went to drill in the end to setup for the live center I noticed a slight wobble in the bit. I did proceed to drill and setup the live center. With an indicator on the live center I'm getting .003 wobble.

The shaft is 34" long and I expect this to create a taper, right? What's a better method to use to find the center for setting up the tailstock and is any amount of wobble acceptable?

Thanks.
Brian in NC

Are you still holding it with a steadyrest? If so, take the steadyrest off. Does the center still run out .003?
If yes, you have a bad center. If no, the run out will be transferred to the OD of the bar. Turning the OD will true it up.
You will get taper if the tailstock is not perfectly aligned with the head stock.