What's new
What's new

Help with plug thread gauge

mega arc 5040dd

Aluminum
I have a lathe with a threaded spindle that I am making a drive dog plate for and need some advice. Because I don't want to have to remove the chuck with a larger piece in it to check the threads as I go I decided to make a thread gauge to check the threads on the drive plate I am making. I am a hobbyist so could use some guidance on this. From what I understand from my research when measuring the pitch diameter of the threads on the plug I should me cutting them to the B pitch diameter and not to the A. I am making a 1.5" 8tpi gauge. Machinery's handbook says pitch diameter for 3A max 1.4188 min 1.4133 and 3B min 1.4188 max 1.4259. I cut my threads to a pitch diameter of 1.4188 and my other chuck that threads onto the spindle would not thread on to the new gauge. When I brought the pitch diameter down to 1.4152 the chuck threads on perfectly with absolutely no play. They are the nicest threads and fit I have ever cut other than for a gauge my understanding is they should be cut to the internal thread pitch diameter. But if that is true the why would the chuck not thread on? I can't imagine the spindle or chuck are an out of spec size since they were mass produced and interchangeable. Where did i screw up or am I just not understanding things correctly?

I know for what the drive plate does as long as it fits the spindle it will work so I will go ahead and make it using the plug gauge I made. I just wanted to practice making something to specs properly and would like to figure out where I am going wrong. All the numbers are from machinery's handbook 28 oddly i could not find anything on 1.5" 8tpi in the 6th edition from 1924 not really sure why but thought that was interesting.

If it's a male thread, you cut it to 3A specs.

Think about what you just wrote. You made your MALE gage a line to line fit with the female threaded part. Of course they won't go together.