What's new
What's new

Help with rotary table setup!

madkaw284

Plastic
Hello all and thank you in advance for taking the time to read this.
I am a welder by trade but very now and then have to get on the lathe and mill. I am by no means considered a machinist but do know my around the machinery really well. This (rotary table) is a particular area I would like to get better at and so I figured, what better place to ask. Anyway!
Let’s say I have to machine a few slots on a specified diameter on a piece of 4x4x 1/4” steel. With 4x4 being the finished size of the part, how do you guys center and along the part on the table? Of course after centering the rotary table to the chuck.
I’ve always just used a piece of stock larger than the finished dimensions, machines all the interior holes and then mill the outside edges to get the finished part but I know there has to be a way to indicate a finished size part on a rotary table.
Thanks again everyone

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

but I know there has to be a way to indicate a finished size part on a rotary table.

Your fixture should hold it on center and concentric to the axis of rotation.
We use a 3 jaw chuck that we can indicate in, just like on an engine lathe.
Or we make soft jaws for odd shaped parts.
Do get it close, we just clamp onto a 1" dowel pin and indicate that in, then chuck onto the part.

Your fixture should hold it on center and concentric to the axis of rotation.
We use a 3 jaw chuck that we can indicate in, just like on an engine lathe.
Or we make soft jaws for odd shaped parts.
Do get it close, we just clamp onto a 1" dowel pin and indicate that in, then chuck onto the part.