What's new
What's new

Help With Threads Please

Mot3s

Plastic
I am new to machining and this is for a senior design project. I have designed a new valve spring height micrometer. The threads are 3/4-20. Given that this needs to be a precision instrument, so to speak, I need to shoot for a pretty tight fit, preferably class 3. The problem is that I think my only option is to tap the internal threads with the class 2B tap available and cut the external threads because I have no way to gage internals with what I'm given to work with. Given that I don't know the pitch diameter for the internals, what am I to shoot for when cutting the externals to give me the best fit? Do I simply take small thread cuts and check the fit with the nut until I think it's good? Do I make the starter hole for the tap as small as possible, and make the pitch diameter for the external larger than a class 2A fit? Am I overthinking this? If I had a GO NOGO gage I believe I'd just cut both and check both for size. It seems unless I buy a way to measure internals, I'm stuck attempting to produce a 2B-3A hybrid (or something?).

What would you all do? I could use all the advice I can get. It's hard to find information online for specifics like this and it's getting to be overwhelming attempting to learn machining in a couple weeks to pull this off. Thanks a lot!

Regarding the internal threads, no one that I know of makes micrometers without a tapered thread and tightening collar. Just tap the internal threads or cut them on your lathe, cut a 3/4" pipe thread on the outside, slit it in 4 to 8 places, and turn down any standard 3/4" pipe fitting to get the tapered collar. now obviously you might want to use something other than a pipe fitting to do this but if you don't have the time to cut a custom tapered thread and matching nut, this is the fastest way to get what you need.