What's new
What's new

Help Wanted

Bob0710

Plastic
I am new to operating machine tools and am looking for a retired shop/manual arts teacher or retired master machinist in the Marion County, Florida area to show me the ropes. I just purchased a Hendey 14x30 lathe and a Bridgeport Series 1 variable speed mill. I can probably figure out how to run them myself, but I think some professional instruction would be helpful to cut down on the learning curve and to help prevent me from making some potentially expensive mistakes. Might help to preserve some valuable (at least to me) body parts as well. So, if you are a guy (or gal) who fits the description and would like to make some extra dough, please reply and I will get in touch with you. Thanks.

They like to close threads here for having a non descriptive title it seems, so if it does get closed post again.

Put need help learning manual mill and lathe in the title.

Thank you for the info. If the Moderators review the post and think the title is misleading, I would appreciate it if they would just change it to something better rather than sending it to the round file.

Consider taking a couple of community college courses, they'll get you started safely.

I would, but they no longer offer that option. There is a track for CNC programmers, but nothing on general machine work. Marion County is a retirement haven, but there is little heavy industry. I guess the thought is that what there is needs CNC programmers more than machinists.

You're about 4hrs away from me, but if nothing comes up, I may be convinced to make a day trip some weekend and show you what I can.

I'm neither retired, nor a master anything.... But I can cut metal good.

You're about 4hrs away from me, but if nothing comes up, I may be convinced to make a day trip some weekend and show you what I can.

I'm neither retired, nor a master anything.... But I can cut metal good.