What's new
What's new

Hi Power Hydraulic Pump

Blazemaster

Hot Rolled
I have been looking into building a hydraulic press and slowly gathering material, have some good steel for a frame. I browse the free section on craigslist often and today this pump popped up. At least I think it's a pump. The guy I got it from said it came off a large press in a machine shop so was hoping I could reuse it for my press. Has anyone seen or used one similar to this?

The motor tag has been removed from the motor, but 3 phase wiring tag still remains. Looks to be about a 7.5hp motor. I can't seem to find anything on the company. The barrel is almost full to the top with clean oil. The gauge goes to 4500 psi, but is broken.

Is there anyway to figure out what kind of pressure this puts out? The lines are pretty hefty and everything looks to be in pretty decent shape. I guess I could look for a cylinder and hook it all up. I am pretty new to hydraulics. Also, not sure why the hell the pics came out sideways.

Attachments

• 20190924_123727.jpg
    20190924_123727.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 239
  • 20190924_123806.jpg
    20190924_123806.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 192
  • 20190924_123814.jpg
    20190924_123814.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 183
  • 20190924_123825.jpg
    20190924_123825.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 183
  • 20190924_123903.jpg
    20190924_123903.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 205
It sure looks home made to me. I can't believe a company would manufacture something in a tinny little barrel and mount a big fat motor on the drum head and poke controls and plumbing through the top. Looks like a machine shop fabri-cobble.

Stuart

After taking a better look at it you may be right. I guess i'll pop it open and see whats inside. There is no control valve on this so it must have been on the press itself.

Also, not sure what the handwheel is for, but I guess I will find out.

I bet the handwheel is connected to a relief valve.