What's new
What's new

The History of Metrics

Interesting history.
I'm an engineer who works all over the world. Metric system...Meh
It was a good idea when we used slide rules. Since the advent of computers, it's just other ways of doing things.

The real problem is that there is not exactly one fully comprehensive metric system. Steel plate thickness availability varies, but always includes 6 and 12 mm thickness, since they are close to 1/4" and 1/2". Structural shapes vary from country to country.

Pipe is a real beauty. It's all nominally the same as imperial with metric designations. Pipe threads? BSP in most places. That's right, 55 degree Whitworth with thread pitches in threads per INCH.

When "the metric system" really is one unified system, where every raw material is made to the same standards across the globe, it may be worth converting.
Not in my lifetime.

The USA is moving towards the metric system - INCH BY INCH :D

"At this time, only three countries—Burma, Liberia, and the US—have not adopted the International System of Units (SI, or metric system) as their official system of weights and measures."

Oh for Pete's sake. The US officially IS METRIC. That was declared years ago, decades ago.

The only problem is getting the people to actually use it. What do you want, storm troopers? You want metric, just use metric. If you work in a shop, don't accept prints that are not metric. The customers don't like it, TOUGH! Your boss says do it to English measure or you are fired: walk out. Just take metric jobs. When you shop for groceries don't buy anything that is labeled in English measure. Want a car, insist on all metric: not a single English number in it. Use gas for heating your house, refuse to pay by the pound or cubic foot. Your water bill is in gallons: DON"T PAY IT! Good luck with that.

It is up to us. It is up to YOU. Do it 100% on a personal level or just quit complaining about it.