What's new
What's new

Hobbiests and southbend 9/10" posts

Status
Not open for further replies.

plastikdreams

Diamond
I'd like to suggest it may be time to draw the line on these southbend posts. These are hobbiests with junk machines asking beginner questions on how to use these decrepit and sometimes dangerous antiques to do actual work.

The latest one on the site has a clothing belt and a wooden pully, and the guy is thrilled about this.

I'm all for everyone to use this great site but it seems like everyday there's another thread popping up. Might as well let jet and grizzly threads fly too.

Just something I've been thinking of the past few weeks. :D

I am neither a hobbyist or a machinist but i work with metal for a living, probably like many on this forum. My 100 year old lathe works great with a wooden counter-shaft pulley and my drilling machine is driven by a leather belt from a thrift shop.

Many different people and the resultant diversity of opinions and methods is what makes this forum interesting.

I actually started to give a snarky answer to your post, something like "if you are not a mod just stfu", but then I decided that would be doing exactly what you were doing so I rephrased it to be a bit more polite:)

Lol it was done well. Look I'm not one to judge really. And I understand doing things to get things going. Quite frankly I probably couldn't make a wooden gear without cam and CNC intervention. The thing is though it's all well and good on an amateurish level but as to the spirit of this forum it doesn't belong.

There are southbend lathes that are real workhorses, the 9 and 10 have their place in history. A hard earned, well deserved place. But do they have a place on a manufacturing forum? I started this thread to start a conversation, k don't make decisions here.

There recently was a thread on hobbiests and a new section for them. I'm all for it, just think, we might grow a machinist or 2.