Hobbiests and southbend 9/10" posts - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

OT:

I make a lot of fun of south bend lathes, but I will say, I have seen some pretty nice work done on them. Back in the 80's I worked in a lab with several very beat 10 inch SB from the 40's. A semi retired fellow square head by the name of Ansgar Askildsen worked part time and would only work on the most beat machines.
    Everything he made was artwork, and fast. That is back when men were men and machinists were machinists. I dream of being half the machinist he was.

AS a OT to an OT, one day as part of a story I cannot recall the gist of, he mentioned that when he was in the merchant marine his ship was held by the Germans, and he said, 'someone told us we should leave, so we left'.

The engineer who overheard the conversation took me aside and told me a version that was more accurate. Apparently they got the guards drunk,stole the launch and sailed it across the Mediterranean!

>>
    4) Regina (& Langanger)

According to a letter of the Norwegian master written in 1941 to the French autorities, when the French interned the ship in Bone in 1940 (no date given), they took away parts of the engine to ensure that the ship will not flee.

On 3/May/1941, seven crew members of the Regina left the ship with its motorboat, leaving behind a letter saying they will join the London Norwegian Government’s Navy.
    The seven men are listed as ;
    2nd officer Magnus Nygaard
    3rd officer Ansgar Askildsen
    3rd engineer Viggo Kristensen
    able seaman Johan Jakobsen
    boatswain Knut Knudsen
    ordinary seaman Wiliam Markant
    ordinary seaman Runar Johansen
    (source is a letter of the Norwegian master asking for a new motorboat, written in English, so probably by the Master himself)
    Warsailors.com :: Ship Forum :: French Archives visit (1) : Norwegian ships

<<