What's new
What's new

Homemade surface grinder/motion ideas

Fatt Miner

Plastic
Hey all,

I'm making a cheap/janky surface grinder out of a cheap bench grinder, lathe cross slide, and some steel tubing. I have the mounting method for the bench grinder and the magnetic chuck figured out, but I don't know a good way to raise and lower the cross slide. I was thinking of using a cheap 32mm cross slide from amazon, link below, but how should I make it travel that vertical distance? It's only a little more than an inch of height in travel, what would be a good way to do it? Obviously trying to keep the cost as low as possible, I'm a pretty novice machinist and this is really the first "tool" I've designed. I have access to an South Bend 9a lathe, a small horizontal mill, bench grinder, and a whole bunch of hand tools. I also have a fair amount of collected scrap material/raw stock.

What are everyone's suggestions?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08F2M6R3D/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A1RXNZT4AK0KHN&psc=1

Hey all,

I'm making a cheap/janky surface grinder out of a cheap bench grinder, lathe cross slide, and some steel tubing. I have the mounting method for the bench grinder and the magnetic chuck figured out, but I don't know a good way to raise and lower the cross slide. I was thinking of using a cheap 32mm cross slide from amazon, link below, but how should I make it travel that vertical distance? It's only a little more than an inch of height in travel, what would be a good way to do it? Obviously trying to keep the cost as low as possible, I'm a pretty novice machinist and this is really the first "tool" I've designed. I have access to an South Bend 9a lathe, a small horizontal mill, bench grinder, and a whole bunch of hand tools. I also have a fair amount of collected scrap material/raw stock.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08F2M6R3D/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A1RXNZT4AK0KHN&psc=1

Projects and Articles on Our Forum! | The Hobby-Machinist

Hey all,