What's new
What's new

Horizontal band saw cooling fluid in vertical position?

9V7W3

Plastic
Hey everyone,

Just joined and this is my first post. I’m fairly new to metal fabrication and just recently purchased this 7x12 band saw from HF and have a question about utilizing the cooling fluid pump in its vertical mode.

1 HP 7 In. x 12 In. Hydraulic Feed Metal Cutting Band Saw

I have the saw set up and aligned perfectly and I installed a 10/14 variable blade I purchased from grizzly that’s cutting the smaller thickness metal I’m using at the moment perfectly in its auto feed horizontal mode.

The problem I ran into tonight was when I stood up the saw in vertical mode. I installed the provided guide/support plate on the blade guide that acts as the cutting table and tried to notch a couple pieces. When I have the cooling pump on no matter how I position the nozzle or how slow I set the fluid speed the cooling fluid just goes EVERYWHERE but back into the drain pan. I mean everywhere. All over the motor, the floor, the electrical controls. The problem isn’t even as much the fluid running off the cutting plate as when it drops through and underneath it. I couldn’t figure out any way to direct the fluid back into the machine. I ended up with a nice puddle on the floor after a few cuts.

From what I can tell the manual doesn’t even mention that it has a cooling pump at all never mind suggestions on how to use it in this orientation. For all of you that have experience with these types of portable project saws is it just not recommended to use the cooling pump in this vertical configuration? I can’t imagine that would make sense for the sake of the blade at the least. Is there something I’m missing as a metal rookie here?

Thanks for the help!

Hey everyone,

Just joined and this is my first post. I’m fairly new to metal fabrication and just recently purchased this 7x12 band saw from HF and have a question about utilizing the cooling fluid pump in its vertical mode.