Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Missouri
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Horizontal Bandsaw Recommendations

Looking for recommendations for a good horizontal bandsaw (not a toy) to cut blanks for the mill and lathe. I currently work mostly in aluminum but need to be able to cut steel, stainless, etc. I'm a small shop and don't need a full auto porsche...

Any must have features? Good brands? Brands/features to avoid? Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

just don't mention gjeet or crislley and you're golden

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've been using this one for about 10 yrs. with no problems.
    Horizontal Bandsaws Machine Style: Manual 352575 - MSC

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Stay away from Hydmech. Garbage.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Buy the best used kalamazoo 9 aw that you can find.If you have time just buy the most complete one that you can find that is just dirty and filthy and rework it . They are very simple and parts are plentiful. You wont be sorry. Edwin Dirnbeck

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    West Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I would buy a good brand american made used saw that you can still get parts for. My observation is that these things are the most neglected machines in most shops. Whatever you get you will likely need some parts for. Saws that I have seen that look good are Johnson, Wellsaw, Kalamazoo.

I bought a Wellsaw model 8 in semi rough condition. Wellsaw still sells all the parts for it and are very helpful on the phone. I like this saw pretty well.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)