What's new
What's new

Horizontal cutter sharpening?

Fluberlove

Plastic
Is there a place to send horizontal mill cutters to be sharpened? I do my own end mills, but the horizontals look too complicated.

I am totally new to this tool griding stuff, but from what I have seen, horizontal cutter sharpening is realyl not much different from an endmill, it's just a shorter tooth. The only things that look tricky are stagger tooth cutters and big slab mills. There is a real good section in here...

http://www.metalwebnews.org/ftp/machinery-repairman.pdf

This is about the most comprehensive free basic cutter grinding text I have found so far just surfing around. For some reason they have seen fit to delete about 80% of the pics, which is extremely annoying but it is still great info. With you being far more familiar with the process already, this will probably translte better than it did with me just reading.

Hello,
I too have some side milling cutters that need need sharpening, but I don't have any way to sharpen them at all. Anybody know of somebody in the Kansas area that would sharpen them?

Thanks
Richard

I have places to send my carbide saw blades, but not mill cutters. I'm sure they are are out there. It's hard to believe everyone just throws them out when they get dull. Maybe they just save them up and sell them on E-bay. To sharpen them correctly is the catch. I can dress them up, but not like new. Replacing a $75 cutter when it could be sharpened is not an option for me. I think the solution is to have a topic that will catch everyones attention. I'm sure if everyone had to read every posting, we would have our solution in no time at all.