What's new
What's new

How to buy...

TheShockHowse

Plastic
Hi. I'm new to machines and while I've used them, I've never owned one. I'm a suspension shop owner and looking to get my first lathe. Manual is great, and while I need a accuracy, I don't need fancy. I'll be working primarily with aluminum, but also medical stainless, brass, and some plastics. Largest diameters will be tube stock up to 40mm in diameter and up to 2 feet of travel would be great. I need enough power to bore a 15mm hole through brass and stainless.

I'm looking for recommendations on how to approach purchasing a lathe, likely used. Things like where, what to look for, tool recommendations, how much I should expect to spend. Any advice is welcome. Thanks in advance.

Shock Howse, That's a really broad question. A 12x36 would fit your envelope, but I'd try to find a 13" or 14" x 40", just a gives a little extra room without getting too big.

Where to buy- all over the place. Craigslist, eBay, Marketplace, military surplus auctions, state surplus auctions, any other auctions, used machinery dealer.

Running a machine in person is the gold standard, but at a lot of these places the lathe might go cheap enough to take a risk. We bought a Harrison M300 on an online auction for a technical college that was listed as having a bad spindle bearing, got it for a song. The spindle wasn't torqued right, we tightened it up and have been using it for years.

I have a older Hendy 14" gearhead lathe I have been looking at clearing out , its about 32" between centers , 19 to 1000 RPM and threading 1 1/2 TPI to 80 TPI..

I am about a hour west of seattle area.

Thanks Lott. Yeah, very broad. I have a mechanical aptitude, but not much experience with machines, so I'm trying to collect as much information as possible. Thank you.