What's new
What's new

How to digitize business logo ???

rockfish

Titanium
Does anyone know the procedure/software to digitize a hand drawn business logo ???

I've wanted to come up with my own business logo (in a previous life, I used to be an artist),
but have had little success coming up with any ideas. Yesterday, in a moment of artistic genius, I had a brilliant idea and had the logo done within 10 minutes. The first real artwork I've done since graduating Commercial Art classes back in 1982.

Now I want to be able to insert the logo into a Word program, my website, etc., but have no idea how to get what I have on paper onto the screen. I know this is stuff they teach kids in Commercial Art classes every day now ......... but they didn't have this stuff back in my day.

Just hoping someone here knows what to do.

Frank

You are probably going to have to draw it in design program. You can scan it in but I assume that is not what you are looking for.

It should probably be in a SVG format. That would make is scale very nicely for what ever size you need without getting too grainy.

Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop would do it. HOwever they are very expensive.

I have used Inkscape which is free, takes some time to learn.

It'll depend both on what you have (what kind of art it is) and what you plan to do with it.

Generally speaking, for online use (webpages, etc.) and simple word-processor documents, a standard image file like .JPG or .GIF is sufficient. So you need either a scanner or a digital camera to convert your art to an image file.

Scanners are inexpensive to buy new, and can often be found cheaper still- literally pennies on the dollar- at flea markets, garage sales and used computer dealers. Setting one up and fiddling with the software is a books' worth all by itself, so I won't expound on it here.