What's new
What's new

Boring and tapping PVC blind flange.

harperxj2

Plastic
Looking for advice. I work in a small fabrication shop and I’m used to working with metals. Mostly piping with stainless and carbon flanges. My supervisor, the real machinist, left for a better position and I’m kind of learning new things on my own.

Customer sent in two 4” PVC blind flanges, wants a 3” NPT tapped hole. I’ve never worked with PVC before and I’m not sure how to go about it. I’ll be using a lathe and boring bar with carbide inserts. I also have a 3” tap, as I haven’t master threading on the lathe. Any recommendations on feed/speed would be great. Any other tips are welcome!

I tried to search the forum but I’m not good with this. Sorry in advance for being a dummy. Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
You say the customer wants a "wants a 3” NPT tapped hole." in a blind hole. First, this sounds like a glue fitting so I have to ask is that hole even deep enough to allow a proper, full length thread to be cut? A threaded flange would be engineered long enough to take care of this problem, but if this is a glue flange, then it may not be. You may only have enough length for a partial thread and, with a blind hole, the pipe may not fully seat in whatever thread you can cut. Heck, you may not even have a proper diameter hole for a 3" NPT thread as a glue fitting will have a hole with a diameter slightly larger than the OD of that size PVC pipe while a thread would be cut DOWN into that OD. If this needs to be liquid tight, they may have problems. Even if it is for some kind of handrail or support, it could make a loose joint and therefore be dangerous. If I were asked to do this, I would want to have the mating part on hand to ensure a proper fit. And may have more questions after that.

Pipe threads are tapered so I am not completely sure how you can do that on a lathe. I would assume it could be done with a taper attachment.